I’ve finished re-reading Deathly Hallows, and am now halfway through OOTP. And once again I am reminded of the magic of J.K. Rowling. Somehow the movies almost always disappoint me..maybe it’s because words work for me more than images. Or maybe because I keep comparing the book to the film and groan at the plot omissions. But it probably cannot be helped – it’s quite a challenge to stuff those few hundred pages into 2.5 hours worth of popcorn. And some scenes which may be thought to be insignificant by some may be loved by others. Some parts in the book struck me in particular: (Spoilers alert)

Luna had decorated her bedroom ceiling with five beautifully painted faces: Harry, Ron, Hermione, Ginny, and Neville. They were not moving as the portraits at Hogwarts moved, but there was a certain magic about them all the same: Harry thought they breathed. What appeared to be fine golden chains wove around the pictures, linking them together, but after examining them for a minute or so, Harry realized that the chains were actually one word, repeated a thousand times in golden ink: friends … friends … friends …

Somehow, Harry is not my favourite character in the book. I’m not sure why..(maybe it’s coz I feel he’s too proud sometimes) but underdogs like Neville and Luna appeal to me more. Luna in particular, because she’s so eccentric. And how she’s so nice to everyone around her, even those who ridicule her and steals her stuff. Which means she must be an angel to those she considers friends. Or maybe it’s just the way I feel like the outcast Luna sometimes. I’m sure all of us feel this way at some point of time, but not all of us have the courage to not make any attempt to fit in unlike Luna (not even Harry, when he first met her).

luna

“Snape’s patronus was a doe,” said Harry, “the same as my mother’s because he loved her for nearly all of his life, from when they were children.”

And with this, I felt a surge of affection for Snape, the same way I did for Ichimaru Gin.

snape doe 

AND THIS IS SO DAMN CUTE I JUST GOTTA PUT THIS IN

POTTERPUFFS FTW (Let me sidetrack a bit.)

Amazing how a little bit of Googling can unearth stuff like that.

And.

hagrid&hiinokka

There’s.

snapeworstmemory

Lots.

James&lily

More.

snape-dumbledore-avada

Where.

kalkaros%20ja%20dumbledore

It.

Harry&malfoy

Came.

harry resurrect

From.

weasleyfamilytree (this is the best)

OKOK I’ll stop. Now to get back on track.

“Oh, I don’t know!” yelled Hermione with awful sarcasm. “rack your brains, Ron, that should only take a couple of seconds”

HAHA this sounds like one of my lines…

ron-and-hermione-kiss-1-150x150 I thought this was quite cute!

Dobby has no master, Dobby is a free elf, and Dobby has come to save Harry Potter and his friends.

How I wanted to cheer when I saw this line (they were trapped in Malfoy Manor then)! The only thing that stopped me was that there were people around when I was reading. Dobby is an adorable and lovable character (despite his desperate measures to prevent Harry from returning to Hogwarts in one book). In Goblet of Fire, he says this:

Dobby cannot let Harry Potter lose his Wheezy!

In case you’re lost, Wheezy refers to Weasley i.e. Ron.

Luna: “Whenever you’re ready Sir.” (before apparating out of Malfoy Manor)
Dobby: “Sir? I like her very much.”

(From movie) Such a beautiful place it is, to be with friends. Dobby is happy to be with his friend, Harry Potter.

(From book) And then with a little shudder the elf became quite still, and his eyes were nothing more than great, glassy orbs sprinkled with light from the stars they could not see.

And he remains adorable and lovable until the very end.

dobby

Thank you so much, Dobby, for rescuing me from that cellar. It’s so unfair that you had to die, when you were so good and so brave. I’ll always remember what you did for us. I hope you’re happy now.

And this is one of the reasons why I like Luna so much. It’s all very simple – what she’s saying, but so very sufficient.

Is Draco alive? Is he in the castle?
The whisper was barely audible, her lips were an inch from his car, her head bent so low that her long hair shielded his face from the onlookers.
Yes,” he breathed back.
He felt the hand on his chest contract: her nails pierced him. Then it was withdrawn. She had sat up.
He is dead!” Narcissa Malfoy called to the watchers.

narcissa

I actually kinda like Narcissa, because she looks elegant in her own way, and actually has feelings (for her family), unlike her sis Bellatrix. “Cissy”, as she is called by her sis. Hmm..if she’s Cissy, then Bellatrix is…Belly? 

“NO!”

The scream was the more terrible because he had never expected or dreamed that Professor McGonagall could make such a sound.

mcgonagall

My heart wrenched. Good old McGonagall – Harry was like a son to her already.

This happens during the awesome Battle of Hogwarts, just when Hermione spots Fenrir Greyback going to attack an unconscious Lavender Brown:

Then, with a bright white flash and a crack, a crystal ball fell on top of his head, and he crumpled to the ground and did not move.

“I have more!” shrieked Professor Trelawney from over the banisters. “More for any who want them! Here –”

And with a movement like a tennis serve, she heaved another enormous crystal sphere from her bag, waved her wand through the air, and caused the ball to speed across the hall and smash through a window.

trelawney

HAHA GOOD OLD TRELAWNEY THIS WAS DAMN FUNNY – I absolutely hope I would see this scene in the movie!!

Here’s another scene I’m craving to see in the movie – more than Trelawney flinging tennis balls. This has got to be the best part ever. If this doesn’t happen I swear I will walk out of the cinema:

“NOT MY DAUGHTER, YOU BITCH!”

Mrs Weasley threw off her cloak as she ran, freeing her arms. Bellatrix spun on the spot, roaring with laughter at the sight of her new challenger.

“OUT OF MY WAY!” shouted Mrs Weasley to the three girls, and with a swipe of her wand she began to duel. Harry watched with terror and elation as Molly Weasley’s wand slashed and twirled, and Bellatrix Lestrange’s smile faltered and became a snarl. Jets of light flew from both wands, the floor around the witches’ feet became hot and cracked; both women were fighting to kill.

“No!” Mrs Weasley cried as a few students ran forward, trying to come to her aid. “Get back. Get back! She is mine!”

Hundreds of people now lined the walls, watching the two fights, Voldemort and his three opponents, Bellatrix and Molly, and Harry stood, invisible, torn between both, wanting to attack and yet to protect, unable to be sure that he would not hit the innocent.

“What will happen to your children when I’ve killed you?” taunted Bellatrix, as mad as her master, capering as Molly’s curses danced around her. “When Mummy’s gone the same was as Freddie?”

“You — will — never — touch — our — children — again!” screamed Mrs Weasley.

Bellatrix laughed, the same exhilarated laugh her cousin Sirius had given as he toppled backward through the veil, and suddenly Harry knew what was going to happen before it did.

Molly’s curse soared beneath Bellatrix’s outstretched arm and hit her squarely in the chest, directly over her heart.

Bellatrix’s gloating smile froze, her eyes seemed to bulge: For the tiniest space of time she knew what had happened, and then she toppled, and the watching crowd roared, and Voldemort screamed.

molly&bellatrix 

(sorry, couldn’t resist putting another one!!)

She looks almost as scary as Bellatrix in this poster…

molly-weasley

And for the n-th time, Voldie is defeated by moms. Three cheers for all the moms in the series! (Lily Potter included)

And just as I finish writing this, here’s a line in OOTP I’ve just read that made me laugh hard:
(Hermione had been knitting woolly hats for elves to pick up – so that they’d be freed)

hermione ron

“The hats have gone. Seems the house-elves do want freedom after all.”

“I wouldn’t bet on it,” Ron told her cuttingly. “They might not count as clothes. They didn’t look anything like hats to me, more like woolly bladders.”

Hermione did not speak to him all morning.

HPbook

The epic conclusion.