So one fine day I was out with my dad and grandmother and we were at this coffeeshop near Joo Seng area..except there was no place to park. So my dad decided to risk it and park at double yellow line. And we sat by the road and he asked me to look out for the the parking attendants. So I sat there eating while keeping my eyes peeled for the one person who would make this meal $70 more expensive.

Except halfway there was this huge truck which parked right in front of us, blocking our view of the car and pretty much the rest of the road. The truck was also parking illegally and I silently prayed that it would get fined before us, so we’d have some time to run.

And then, after we’d finished our meal and waiting for my grandmother to finish her coffee, it happened. This guy wearing a shirt with big bold letters LTA printed on his back appeared from in front of the lorry.. And since I was pretty sure it didn’t stand for his rank in the military, I calmly pointed out this new turn of events to my dad.

I have never seen him move so fast before. In the blink of an eye, he was around the huge truck and into the car, driving off. Now I must tell you that I cannot run for nuts. I can’t run to save my life. (I also can’t do maths problems to save my life – but not much point there, since doing maths shortens my lifespan, hence the net gain in lifespan is roughly 0, except I’ll prolly retain some brain cells by just dying without attempting the sums) Maybe it’s because I don’t see much point in running. Maybe I could run if there was a purpose, like running after the bus. Maybe they should put a bus 179 on the track the next time I take my 2.4 run.

Anyway, I don’t know if it runs in the family (excuse the pun) but I never thought he could run so fast. Maybe it’s really true that the most dire circumstances unlock the hidden potential in us. (like you know Xmen) Or, this just shows one can’t even have a meal in peace because there are too many cars in Singapore. Or too few parking spaces.

(Or we should have just eaten/parked elsewhere).