So I came on Facebook one fine day and was flooded with cartoon display pics. Then I saw this:

Change your Facebook profile picture to a cartoon from your childhood and invite your friends to do the same. Until monday there should be no human faces on facebook, but an invasion of memories. This is for violence against children.

Well..nice campaigning tactic I suppose. Better than the last one I remember (something to do with kitchen tables). Anyway, so I decided to do my part for the children and changed my display pic to a cartoon as well. (something that looked cuter than me, at least)

This is the classic pose Pooh bear adopts when he goes “Think.think.think.” Not that he ever thought of anything useful…I remember there’ll always be some kind of trouble and the only idea he gets out of his thinking is that eating some “hunny” will solve the problem. Either that or his tummy will rumble and he will need to eat some hunny anyway.

And there were other characters like Piglet, his best friend, and Tigger, the crazy fun-loving whacky tiger:

I remember Tigger and Pooh always said a lot of rubbish that made me laugh, till today. There was this episode where they were facing these scary thingies called heffalumps and woozles. Then Tigger said enthusiastically: “Go, Pooh bear! Show ’em what you’re made of!”

Then comes the reply after 1 second of thinking: “Uh..fluff?”

Indeed..pooh bear is “the bear stuffed with fluff.” haha. He’s got fluff for brains too. In fact, I think watching Pooh bear cartoons are detrimental to your brain. Coz most of them have fluff for brains and come up with all sorts of ridiculous ideas. Like heffalumps and woozles. I have totally no idea, until today, what they were, until I wikied:

Although this is never explicitly stated, it is generally thought that heffalumps are elephants from a child’s viewpoint (the word “heffalump” being a child’s attempt at pronouncing “elephant”). Most heffalumps are enemies of Pooh and his friends. They are known to steal honey and are often associated with woozles. One particular heffalump named Heff was the dim-witted sidekick of Stan the Woozle and was afraid of Roo because he thought Roo was a giant mouse.

In the fifth chapter of Winnie-the-Pooh, Pooh and Piglet attempt bravely to capture a heffalump in a trap. However, no heffalumps are ever caught in their trap, and indeed they never meet a heffalump in the course of the books. The sole actual appearance of heffalumps in the books come as Pooh tries to put himself to sleep: “[H]e tried counting Heffalumps [but] every Heffalump that he counted was making straight for a pot of Pooh’s honey … [and] when the five hundred and eighty-seventh Heffalumps were licking their jaws, and saying to themselves, ‘Very good honey this, I don’t know when I’ve tasted better’, Pooh could bear it no longer.”

Pooh and Piglet fall into a similar trap (it’s implied it was the same one) and think that it was made by a Heffalump to catch them. Pooh and Piglet rehearse the conversation they’ll have when the Heffalump comes, but Pooh falls asleep and when Piglet hears a voice, he panics and says the wrong thing. He is mortified when the voice turns out to be that of Christopher Robin.

Just in case you were wondering, here’s what a heffalump looks like:

                  

 And a woozle is supposed to be something like a weasel, who of course goes around committing the greatest sin of stealing hunny as well. and Roo is a baby kangaroo in the story.:

 

And looking at this picture reminds me of Eeyore! Eeyore is this dear old donkey-plush thingy who moves dam slowly and talks dam slowly as well. But he seems to be the wisest among them all. I used to hate Eeyore because I thought he was boring, until a friend who loved Eeyore convinced me otherwise.

Not to mention that I found another character I hated more:

 

YES! HIM! His name is Rabbit. He is totally selfish, scheming, ignorant, stupid, disgusting and unrepentant. He would think of some evil scheme to benefit him and himself only, but it would fail miserably and Pooh bear and friends would help him get out of the predicament and they lived happily ever after…and then in the next episode HE REPEATS IT ALL OVER AGAIN! LOOK AT HIM! HOW REPULSIVE! I think A. A. Milne hated him as well. Otherwise why would he be given such a lame name like “Rabbit”? (/ignore that Piglet is called Piglet)

 Anyway. Watching Pooh bear is not very good for your English as well. For one, honey is spelt as “hunny”.

And I’m pretty sure you will fail your compo if you wrote about woozles (unless your teacher is a pooh fan as well). Not to mention all these wierd terms that Tigger comes up with effortlessly, like “terribible”, “horribible” and “tiggerrific”.

 

 

I think he drew this banner as well:

 

 

 

But I still loved watching Pooh cartoons.

Anyway, here are some more pictures of Winnie the Pooh, the awesome bear stuffed with fluff.